African Union Commission

AU Flag







Contacts AU Commission (website)
Members Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sahrawi Republic, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, São Tomé and Príncipe, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe


The African Union Commission is the Secretariat of the AU and thus entrusted with executive functions. The Commission is located in Ethiopia and consists of 10 officials: a chairperson, a deputy chair person and eight commissioners and staff members. The AU Commission is made up of a number of portfolios, them being: Peace and Security; Political Affairs; Trade and Industry; Infrastructure and Energy; Social Affairs; Rural Economy and Agriculture; Human Resources, Science and Technology; and Economic Affairs.

The mission of the AUC is to become “an efficient and value-adding institution driving the African integration and development process in close collaboration with AU member states, the Regional Economic Communities and African citizens” by developing clear policies and strategies.

More information on the values and guiding principles of the AUC may be found here.