Community of Sahel-Saharan States








Contacts Website
Members BeninBurkina Faso, Chad, Libya, Mali, Niger, Sudan, Central African Republic, Eritrea, Djibouti, The Gambia, Senegal, Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Somalia, Tunisia, Togo, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Comoros, Mauritania, Guinea, Kenya, Sao Tomé and Principe, Equatorial Guinea (2018)
Main transport corridors Abidjan-Lagos, Dakar-Lagos, Tema-Ougadougou, Abidjan-Ougadougou, Bamako-Dakar, Bamako-Ougadougou-Tema, Abidjan-Niamey, Abidjan-Bamako, Cotonou-Niamey, Lome-Ouagadougou, Accra-Ougadougou
Key private sector organisations  N/A

The Community

CEN-SAD was created in 1998 in Libya and is a regional organisation for the Sahel-Saharan states. It was created to overcome the problem of low economic integration between the states and aimed to establish an economic union, promote foreign trade transport facilitation and increased communication between its members.

The region is characterised by political instability and economic fragility. Therefore, initiatives have been started to assist in agriculture, finance and transportation. They plan to construct a railway line between Libya, Chad, Niger, Burkina Faso, Mali and Senegal.

Trade-related items

The members of CEN-SAD participate in other African economic unions aiming to create a common African Economic Community.

The placed Free Trade Agreement between the CEN-SAD states might prove difficult to implement due to other customs unions of ECOWAS, ECCAS and COMESA.

Main Technical Assistance Partners

  • African Union
  • EU
  • FAO
  • AfDB
  • BOAD
  • UNDP
  • WHO