Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development






Key contacts Main website
Type Bilateral

Canada’s international assistance is managed by the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development. The Government of Canada has identified five priority areas:

  • Increasing food security;
  • Securing the future of children and youth;
  • Stimulating sustainable economic growth;
  • Advancing democracy; and
  • Promoting stability and security.

In addition, the five priority areas include the following cross-cutting themes:

  • Increasing environmental sustainability;
  • Advancing gender equality; and
  • Helping to strengthen governance institutions and practices.

The Government of Canada has identified 25 countries of focus and additionally maintains bilateral aid programmes with the following 13 countries: Bolivia, Cuba, Egypt, Guatemala, Iraq, Kenya, Malawi, Morocco, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.