African Development Bank Group

The African Development Group






Key contacts Main website
Type Multilateral
Regional Members Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, BurundiCape VerdeCameroonCentral African RepublicChad,  Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Dijoubti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Non regional members Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Korea, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America, Unites Arab Emirates (ADF member only)

The overarching goal of the African Development Bank Group is to promote sustainable economic growth and reduce poverty in Africa. It consists of the African Development Bank (AfDB), the African Development Fund (ADF) and the Nigeria Trust Fund (NTF). 54 African countries are members along with 27 non-African countries. The strategy for the period 2013-2022 particularly emphasises attention to fragile states, agriculture and food security and gender.

The annual approval of the Bank Group range between UA 4 to 6 billion. The majority of the Group’s funds are provided as loans, followed by grants and guarantees. The Bank divides its work in to sub-regions with the following portion of Bank Group loan and approval and investment structure in 2013:

  • Central Africa (6.8%): mainly in infrastructure, multisector and agriculture and rural development).
  • East Africa (16.8%): infrastructure (including transport, energy and water and sanitation).
  • North Africa (6.4%): Social sector and agriculture.
  • Southern Africa (17.3%): infrastructure (transport, energy, ITC, water and sanitation), finance.
  • West Africa (27.8%): infrastructure, multisector, agriculture and rural development.