International Trade Centre


Key contacts Main website
Trade Facilitation Programme website
Type Multilateral

The International Trade Centre (ITC) is the joint agency of the World Trade Organization and the United Nations. The goal of the ITC is increased competitiveness on the global market for businesses in developing countries, ultimately resulting in economic development and the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals. In support of the implementation of Trade Facilitation Agreement the ITC published the technical paper National Trade Facilitation Committees – Moving Towards Implementation focussing on Article 23.2 of the Trade Facilitation Agreement which requires Member States to “establish and/or maintain a national committee on trade facilitation or designate an existing mechanism to facilitate both domestic coordination and implementation of provisions of this Agreement” (download). The technical paper is supporting developing countries to better evaluate the policy, organizational  and funding options that best suit their circumstances and is additionally seeking to set out a roadmap to implement the Trade Facilitation Agreement obligation on National Trade Facilitation Bodies.

ITC primarily focuses on the Least Developed Countries (LDC), landlocked developing countries (LLDCs) or small island developing states (SIDS) and countries in Sub-Saharan Africa.

ITC has identified six focus areas:

  • Trade and market intelligence for SME competitiveness;
  • Supporting regional economic integration and South-South links;
  • Connecting to value chains: SME competitiveness, diversification and links to export markets;
  • Strengthening trade and investment support institutions; and
  • Promoting and main-streaming inclusive and green trade Building a conducive business environment.